Steve Mason to release new album Meet the Humans

Steve Mason to release new album Meet the Humans

Written at home by Mason, the tracks were then rehearsed in Brighton with touring band mates Steve Duffield and Greg Nielson, before being recorded with Elbow keyboardist and producer Craig Potter at Blueprint Studios in Salford. Recorded in the studios ‘big room’, an ex-factory space with floor to ceiling windows, the album took shape during a smooth and enjoyable six weeks in the early summer of 2015.

Following from his ‘double political concept album’ ‘Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time’ this album is a move towards a more simple ethic; ‘an album where each song is a separate entity, where there is no great narrative running through it.’

‘Meet The Humans’ is shot through with a sense of renewal following Steve’s recent move to Brighton, swinging musically across dance, pop, folk, dub, and deep house influences. It’s a record which repeatedly returns to core themes, the possibility of others to redeem the self, the opportunity of change for the better in the individual, the joy of life and the world we inhabit, it’s arguably the most complete and direct of Steve’s long discography - eleven personal stories combined into one positive and proper whole, the sweep of the human condition written large and full of love and hope and joy.

Meet the Humans is Steve Mason's third solo album following Boys Outside (2010) and Monkey Minds In The Devil’s Time (2013).

‘Meet The Humans’ will be available on CD (DS107CD), vinyl (DS107LP) and digitally (DS107D). You can pre-order the album via Dom Mart and iTunes.

  1. Water Bored
  2. Alive
  3. Alright
  4. Another Day
  5. Run Away
  6. To A Door
  7. Hardly Go Through
  8. Through My Window
  9. Planet Sizes
  10. Like Water
  11. Words In My Head

Steve has also announced a couple of shows around the release of the record. Further shows will be announced shortly.