Shares new track Easy To Forget feat Ariel Pink

Shares new track Easy To Forget feat Ariel Pink

Having recently announced his debut album, Drugdealer aka LA artist Michael Collins is pleased to share another cut from the record ‘Easy To Forget’ featuring Ariel Pink. Taken from The End of Comedy – out September 9th through Weird World, ‘Easy To Forget’ continues the journey into Collins’ whimsical world, one that is informed by Jean Baudrillard, social media perception, Sergio Leone’s spaghetti western vistas and his endless travels.

Formerly of Run DMT and Salvia Plath, Collins previously shared another track from the album, the beguiling ‘Suddenly’ featuring Weyes Blood (Natalie Mering), which earned a Best New Music on Pitchfork.

The End of Comedy is a collection of vignettes - lucid, lysergic and organic - featuring homespun explorations of Carole King¬-esque piano ballads, Bacharach-ian orchestration, the psych-¬folk of Ultimate Spinach and Hendrickson Road House and even New York City subway jazz, all pulled together by Collins’s deft AOR auteurship and keen sense of humour. Throughout the record, Collins eschews the spotlight, in favour letting the ensemble shine.

There are guest vocals from Ariel Pink, Danny James (‘My Life’) and Weyes Blood, who brings Laurel Canyon balladry to the table on the album’s titular track. Not to mention a bona fide who's who of Collins’s mates, including members of Regal Degal, Holy Shit!, Mild High Club, Mr. Twin Sister and pals from Mac DeMarco’s band. All of these collaborators contribute essential bits and pieces that create the foundations of a beautiful, absurdist collection of songs that plays like a short film in which Collins journeys far and wide, popping in to various abodes, embracing friends old and new and casting a spell on them and us in turn.

Please note the tracklisting we previously announced has changed. Correct version as below.


1. Far Rockaway Theme

2. The Real World (ft. Sheer Agony)

3. Suddenly (ft. Weyes Blood)

4. Easy To Forget (ft. Ariel Pink)

5. Were You Saying Something?

6. Theme For Alessandro

7. It’s Only Raining Right Where You’re Standing

8. The End Of Comedy (ft. Weyes Blood)

9. Sea of Nothing

10. My Life (ft. Danny James) 11. Comedy Outro

The End of Comedy will be available on CD (WEIRD49CD), LP (WEIRD49LP) and digitally (WEIRD49D) as of Friday 9th September. All pre-orders come with instant grat of ‘Suddenly’.